The Midnight Mint Mocha Frappuccino 

On May 2, 2017 the week after the Unicorn had took its course Starbucks was ready to come out with this and an old favorite it was to flashback to that year. The Midnight is made with extra dark cocoa – mint crystals – coffee – milk – and a middle layer of whipped cream. My idea of this drink was really interesting. I really like mint chocolate so this drink was going to be a ball park for me.

Once I took my first few slips and slurps I realized that my expectations was too highly met. I had tasted the mint chocolate and that’s great but there was too much mint flavor to thoroughly taste the other potential flavors. Even though I had arrived in the middle of the day either giving the baristas enough time to get use to the new menu or in the midst of a shift change where the current barista could just be learning the drink but the extra mint flavor really made this Frappuccino overpowering as a whole. I can compare this drink to an “Andes” thin mint chocolate candy.

Thin mints are a minty chocolate candy and the Midnight is like a blend of these thin mints and whip cream and coffee. Nevertheless this drink is not as big as the unicorn was last week but it does cater to those who would like a nice mint chocolate frappe. The Midnight Mint Mocha frappe is a great addition to the Starbucks arsenal of Frappuccino’s and whether or not it stays on the menu or goes to the secret menu the midnight will attempt to make it’s mark.

1 Comment

Leave a comment